Adam Holmes and the Embers

So first off, an apology…specially an apology to Adam and co. This took far longer than I expected it to due to some extreme technological difficulties (i.e. my internet went  out for, what is it now, three weeks?…my bad).  You all are fantastic, so don’t let my issues with technology lead you to believe anything different. 🙂

I have good things to say about every single song, but in the interest of avoiding a rambling review, I’m just going to give the Sparknotes version, especially since this is so late (still my bad). I would like to mention first that my favourite song out of the group is probably Aviemore; it definitely has the beautiful richness that I often look for when dealing with folk music. This is where I’m going to start resisting the urge to ramble, because I could honestly go on for days about that song, but I’m sure none of you are that interested in my scattered analysis.

And here’s the Sparknotes. Must. Resist. Rambling.

Alone We Stand and Follow the Sun are (forgive me for this, because I’m probably going to butcher it completely) folk takes on sixties rock (told you), and I adore them, plain and simple. Every song is extremely strong musically and lyrically, a combination that can be almost impossible to find anymore. Fire in the Sun, besides being stuck in my head all weekend, is beautifully composed and extremely catchy in the most wholesome way possible. I’m not usually a fan of “catchy” songs, so congratulations; you successfully won me over (an almost impossible feat, in case you were wondering). I was wary of Home at first; most songs with that title are either overly cheesy or sickeningly sweet, neither of which this was. This was just the right amount of realistic sweetness, which was definitely a pleasant surprise.

And my internet is starting to go out again, so this is where I’m going to have to cut my rambling short.

Adam, I apologize again. If you don’t completely hate me, I’m always interested in hearing more from you. I think I could honestly write novels about your music (release a full length album and I just might have to..). If you’d like, I’m also willing to write a more detailed version of this when my internet connection/the weather here in Nashville decides to stop interfering with my work schedule. Keep it up, bud. You definitely have something special going for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

